How do we gain more confidence? How important is confidence to us? Why is confidence necessary?

I delivered my seventh prepared speech last night at Toastmasters, with a project “Research your topic” from our Competent Communicator Manual. I linked my personal story into my speech as people are able to relate to true stories and get captured by them. Talking about a personal matter can be daunting on stage, yet I am free to talk about my personal matters because I am authentic. I have set myself free from shame that I had picked up from my dysfunctional family set up.

I talked about my dysfunctional family set up in my speech and having the freedom and courage to do so, sets me free to live for myself, instead of others. In my speech, I spoke about “Without authenticity, there can be no intimacy” as Shirley Smith wrote in her book “Behind Closed Doors”. I read this book after my long distance Aussie sweetheart sent it to me back in February 2016. The author’s information was very educational and I learned how to create more intimacy with my sweetheart. What a bonus for both of us!

set yourself free

“We are only as sick as our secrets” Shirley Smith writes in her book “Behind Closed Doors”. Whilst she does not encourage us to air our dirty laundry to the public, she does encourage us to be authentic and this sets us free to being a prisoner of what others think or say about us. Having a solid personal foundation is the secret ingredient to being authentic.

I gained many valuable tools to build my personal foundation from the ground up after I began listening to Jim Rohn, who became my mentor after I was introduced to personal development in June 2011. I had a very weak and vulnerable foundation from being born in a very dysfunctional family. Gradually, from investing daily time on working hard on myself, I began on building my foundation, from the ground up. Almost six years later, my solid personal foundation is serving me very well with every aspect of my life.

I am able to focus on meeting my needs, wants and desires as mentioned in Shirley Smith’s book “Behind Closed Doors” for a solid personal foundation. I am totally focused on working on my goals due to eliminating toxic and negative people from my life.  I no longer entertain toxicity or negativity. I live in a positive bubble. I have my set of values that I live by.

I am finally free to live my life the way I want to. I am living for me, no matter what others say or think of me. I am free to be who and what I was born to be. Having no more limiting beliefs is such a light and free heaven to live in. I am thoroughly enjoying living my life to the max because I set myself free to the unspoken, unreasonable and unrealistic expectations of who and what I am expected to be. It is vital to have the freedom to live our own lives the way we want to, without any limiting restrictions. Then and only then, are we finally free, free as a bird to do what we always wanted to do, whenever we want, with whoever we want.

This is where I am at with my life. Free as a bird, soaring up and high, into the sky.

I see many people in my circle of influence from my own community who are imprisoned by their dysfunctional family set up. They have lost their true self, their authenticity and they are all very sick. I am blessed to be free from sickness now. No more dysfunction. I have a very healthy relationship with myself because of my authenticity. Shame caged me into a box, a trap, where I felt tired, drained and was extremely sick. Nowadays, it is such a contrast.

Confidence is having the freedom to do whatever we want, within reason, with our own lives, without the need to constantly be tied to what others say or think about us, about what we do, what we wear, where we live or work, who we choose to be friends with or who we marry. Confidence is knowing clearly what we need, want and desire, then taking charge of meeting those needs, wants and desires. Confidence is having clear set values. These are the secret ingredients to our solid personal foundation.

I am feeling hyper, energetic and excited to be able to enjoy living each day with some craziness as I have so much fun with my inner child. I am childlike, playful and passionately curious about things and people around me. I am bringing out my creativity that was once lost. I have found my passions and life is so much more meaningful. Thank you so much to my consistent hard work on enhancing my life each day. Well done me!

be free

The stage at Toastmasters has my name on it. I feel at home whenever I step onto that stage. I speak with passion and bring out my emotions. There is no more shame of what others shall say or think of me when I am delivering a speech at Toastmasters. I know I am good enough. I know I am whole and that is what matters. I am no longer living my life as a prisoner. I have finally “Set Myself Free!”

