What do you do to de-stress? What do you do to deal with and handle stress at home and at work?

I am currently unemployed!  Thank goodness because I would have had a nervous breakdown if I was working and dealing with this week’s demands at home.

We had our boiler and radiators replaced on Wednesday which was a major project!  I needed to move large and small pieces of furniture around our tiny three bedroom flat to make room for the workmen to do what they needed to do. This meant that I needed to declutter our tiny flat, filled with so much crap and rubbish that we no longer used or need. I felt so much lighter from the declutter and Spring clean. Yet when it came to moving all the furniture around, that was a different story all together!

The dust that had accumulated underneath furniture that had stayed in their place for over eight years was unbelievable! Thank goodness for our dust sucker of a vacuum cleaner we got. Dyson never fails to deliver when it comes to sucking up dust! Haha

We were told it was best to leave home for the day from 8am until 5pm on the day of the major works. Thank goodness for my parents who live nearby and for their Wifi. Calvin was entertained and content!  I got spoiled by my parents because I got to have fun with mum. Dad spoiled me when he made me lunch and he made Calvin’s too!  The best days are lived with our parents! Hehe

Seeing our home at 5pm on Wednesday was upsetting!  There was dirt, dust and mess in our living room, bedrooms, hall and bathroom. Home was like a bombsite. The reward was……we had a new combi boiler and new radiators. This means our gas bill shall be lower. I could save more for another holiday! Haha

I could not cook from scratch for our dinner as our kitchen was dirty, dusty and in a huge mess, so it was a take away full of fat and salt. Yuck!

I missed my daily yoga session and felt so stressed!

yoga pose

It took me over two hours of cleaning and changing my bed linen to feel comfortable and clean to some extent!  It felt like a workout and reminded me of the days I was working as a housekeeper with Travelodge.

Our carpets look like they are doing some sort of yoga pose as they have been neglected due to the major works. The carpet fitter yesterday whilst I was out for my job interview so I missed him and need to wait until Monday before our carpet is put back to their original beauty!  Meanwhile, I am keeping my eyes off all our carpets at the bottom of the radiators! Hehe

Now that I have started my mission to Spring clean and declutter, I have a new addiction!  I want to declutter every room and have as little as possible. My two elder sons have so much rubbish and crap hoarding in their bedrooms that the sight of them all would be more than enough to weigh down a truck! I threw out old and out of date sauces from our fridge as I was cleaning it this afternoon. The Cheesestrings that Calvin no longer wants went into our food waste bin. I cleared our stationery drawer and gave away loads of pencils, rubbers, rulers and colouring pens to our neighbour who has five kids. I am sure they shall have more use of them all than we would.

Decluttering is vital to create space for better things to come through. I have a less cluttered bedroom now since I threw out a small wardrobe that I found to be taking up space and no longer served me well. I am planning on clearing out boxes of unwanted rubbish sitting on the floor, taking up vital space. I created space for my long awaited library by rearranging things around. It was a wonderful moment when I realised that I could have my library by just rearranging things around, instead of having to wait until this and that. I am so happy for my self made library where I am able to see the titles of my books now that they are standing up, instead of lying flat in a huge box! Woo hoo!

depositphotos_5242273-stock-photo-girl-taking-a-bathI have been taking baths, which I rarely do, to de-stress, with lavender oil and what a great de-stresser! The shower was fast for a quick wash, yet the bath soaking was vital to de-stress!  Heaven!

Congratulations to me on getting through a rather demanding and tough week!  Well done me! Hehe

