What does happiness mean to you? What images, sounds, smells, thoughts and feelings comes through when you see or hear the word “happiness”?

share-happinessHappiness means different things to each of us due to our model of the world. We have our own definition and meaning of the word “happiness”. Some of us rarely saw our parents have fun when we were growing up, therefore, happiness was rare for our inner child and this sets us up for a very short burst of happiness. Some of us may never have had happiness passed onto us from their parents and main caregivers, which means that we have no idea what happiness is and what it feels like. We merely live each day muddling through our daily challenges. Our inner child knows nothing about how it feels to have happiness flowing from within.

Everything that we saw, heard, felt and remembered from our childhood sets us up for what happiness means to us in our adult life. Happiness starts from our childhood.

I was very fortunate to have been brought up by my crazy, light minded mother, who was childlike, funny, positive and who knew how to have fun, how to have a laugh, how to make the most out of her circumstances even though life was a huge struggle for her, each and every day of her life. My mother was abandoned at birth and never got to see or know about her birth parents. She was abused and neglected from birth. Yet, she never allowed her circumstances to stand in her way of having fun. I remember my mother as the person who would smile and spread her happiness to others, especially to her children. I am so blessed to have been given this blessing and it has been a huge bonus for me in my life.

Happiness to me nowadays, is about feeling the blessings and counting each and every one of them. Happiness is no longer about having the status, the materialistic things, the power, the authority, the flashy car or the big house to outdo others. Happiness these days to me, is about spreading my happiness to others who are less fortunate than myself. It is about smiling at a stranger. It is about listening to someone with the intent to understand them. It is about making others feel important. It is about giving a helping hand to those in need. It is about giving to others, without expecting anything in return. It is about making consistent progress for personal growth that money could never buy. It is about becoming the best version of who I want to be in order to expand and grow. It is about grabbing opportunities for learning and stepping out of my comfort zone. It is about taking a calculated risk and experiencing things that I have yet to experience. Happiness is about setting myself free from my parents expectations of who and what they want me to be. Who and what I am inside is what matters to me. Who and what I am inside is no longer anyone’s business. Who and what I am inside is more attractive than what others want me to be. I no longer live to please others or conform to their expectations. I no longer live to be bothered about what others say or think of who and what I am. I am so focused on having fun each day, what others say or think of me is none of my business. I no longer seek the approval of others. I no longer compare myself to others. I no longer focus on what others do and where they are at.

I no longer allow toxic shame to hold me back from being the authentic me. I no longer allow toxic shame to get in the way of having fun. I no longer allow toxic shame to trap me inside of a confined space and where shame says I should and should not be. Toxic shame no longer has any space in my life. I am free to feel what I feel, free to do what I want to do, free to have fun wherever and whenever I want. Free to laugh out loud and be proud of who and what I am. I am free to live my life for myself and no one else. I am free to make choices for me and it is so light and liberated. I am free to choose who I surround myself with. I am free to travel wherever I want, whenever I want. I am free to pursue what matters to me. The freedom I have nowadays is what gives me the happiness that I have.

happiness

As it is International Happiness Day today, I wanted to spread my happiness near and far. I spent quality time with my eldest and youngest son, going out for a light meal. As we were stuck in traffic, on the motorway, I waved to a stranger, driving in his brand new car. I smiled at me, with my beautiful, sexy and attractive smile. He must have thought “Who is that crazy woman waving at me?”  I smiled at him again, as I waved at him, he then waved back at me. As we were moving sluggishly, it became a very happy moment for both of us as I knew I had succeeded in spreading my happiness onto him for just that boring moment, when we were both stuck in traffic!  That smile on the stranger’s face told me that I had helped him to feel happy for a mere second of his rather boring journey in the traffic. I am very curious as to how many people will he share my crazy waving at him???

Happy International Happiness Day to you all, near and far!

 

 

 

